Sipay card reader review 2026: tap to pay fees and rating
One of the few Spanish providers offering SoftPOS alongside its own acquiring licence, classic terminals and unattended machines from a single source. Charges a flat fee per terminal rather than a percentage — unusual in the Spanish market. Its ENS certification qualifies it for public-sector contracts.
The score measures transparency, reach and certification of the offer — not how well the app works. See the formula
Sipay offers Tap to Pay (App: Sipay - Tap to Pay) for iOS + Android. Transaction fee: on request; monthly fee: 15 EUR/mo.. Security certification: PCI DSS. Available in: Spain.
Sipay terms in full
| Product name | Tap to Pay (App: Sipay - Tap to Pay) |
|---|---|
| Provider type | SoftPOS + hardware |
| Headquarters | Spanien (Alcobendas, Madrid) |
| Founded | n/a |
| Platforms | Android (NFC required; minimum version not stated) — no iOS |
| Certification | PCI DSS 4.0; ISO 27001; ENS (Spanish National Security Framework); MPoC/CPoC not stated |
| Transaction fee | Transaction rate not published. A flat EUR 15 per month per terminal covers up to 1,000 transactions; above that, terms are individual. The English version of the same page states EUR 10 — the contradiction is unresolved. |
| Monthly fee | EUR 15 per month per terminal (Spanish-language version of the page) |
| Setup cost | n/a |
| Contract term | no minimum term |
| Cards accepted | Visa, Mastercard, Apple Pay, Google Pay |
| PIN entry on screen | n/a |
| Transaction limit | n/a |
| Target customers | retail and hospitality in Spain, mobile selling situations; chains via the enterprise plan |
| Available markets | Spain |
| Website | sipay.es |
| Data source | Open primary source ↗ |
Alternatives to Sipay
Comparable providers in Europe:
- Stripe — from 2.70% + 5 ¢, Rating 1.4
- Nexi (Nexi Group) — from 0.99%, Rating 1.6
- Viva.com — from 1.16%, Rating 1.6
- SumUp — from 0.99%, Rating 1.6
- myPOS — from 1.10%, Rating 1.6
Compare all providers in Europe →
Frequently asked questions
Sipay tap to pay: do I need any extra hardware?
Not necessarily. Sipay sells card terminals as well, but its tap to pay product works on a phone you already own, with no extra hardware. Supported platforms: iOS + Android.
Which countries is Sipay available in?
By our records: Spain. Availability changes, and the date above the table is when we last checked.