Square (Block) card reader review 2026: tap to pay fees and rating
Fully integrated into the free Square POS app; requires iPhone XS+ with iOS 15.5+. First major US provider of Tap to Pay on iPhone (2022).
The score measures transparency, reach and certification of the offer — not how well the app works. See the formula
Square (Block) offers Square Tap to Pay on iPhone / Tap to Pay on Android for iOS + Android. Transaction fee: from 2.60% + 15 ¢; monthly fee: none. Security certification: n/a. Available in: USA, Canada, Australia, Japan, France, Ireland, Spain, UK (8 countries).
Square (Block) terms in full
| Product name | Square Tap to Pay on iPhone / Tap to Pay on Android |
|---|---|
| Provider type | SoftPOS + hardware |
| Headquarters | USA |
| Founded | 2009 |
| Platforms | both |
| Certification | not stated |
| Transaction fee | 2.6% + 15¢ per transaction (USA) |
| Monthly fee | 0 (Square Free plan) |
| Setup cost | 0 |
| Contract term | n/a |
| Cards accepted | Apple Pay |
| PIN entry on screen | yes (in markets where PIN is mandatory) |
| Transaction limit | Transaction limits possible, amount not stated |
| Target customers | Small retailers, hospitality, service providers, mobile sellers |
| Available markets | USA, Canada, Australia, Japan, France, Ireland, Spain, UK (8 countries) |
| Website | squareup.com |
| Data source | Open primary source ↗ |
Alternatives to Square (Block)
Comparable providers in North America (global):
- Shopify — on request, Rating 2.9
Compare all providers in North America (global) →
Square head to head
These comparisons put Square against one specific rival, with the published conditions of both sides next to each other:
- Square or SumUp? fees, monthly cost, certification and rating
- Square or PayPal / Zettle? fees, monthly cost, certification and rating
- Stripe or Square? fees, monthly cost, certification and rating
- Square or Clover? fees, monthly cost, certification and rating
Alternatives to Square: who else is worth a look →
Frequently asked questions
Square tap to pay: do I need any extra hardware?
Not necessarily. Square (Block) sells card terminals as well, but its tap to pay product works on a phone you already own, with no extra hardware. Supported platforms: iOS + Android. Transaction limits possible, amount not stated.
Which countries is Square available in?
By our records: USA, Canada, Australia, Japan, France, Ireland, Spain, UK (8 countries). Availability changes, and the date above the table is when we last checked.